Education

The path to becoming a Power Engineer requires theoretical classroom education combined with practical hands-on experience. Candidates will need to complete an accredited program with either a recognized college or training provider and pass a provincial certification exam.

HomeEducation

Certification

Canada has 5 levels of certification for Power Engineers. Continued education, practical experience and an exam are required for each certification level. Each province has its own legislation regulating the requirements for certification.

Standardized test banks used for examinations throughout Canada (excepting Quebec) are developed and maintained by the Standardization of Power Engineer’s Examination Committee (SOPEEC). Visit the SOPEEC website for more information on provincial and standardized certifications.

 

Opportunity

There is plenty of room to grow in a Power Engineering career path. With the median age of Power Engineers at around 45 and fewer graduates than job vacancies in the industry, there are positions available at every class level across Canada and the demand is only expected to increase.

On completion of a 2-year, full-time program and meeting the requirements to pass provincial certification, an Entry Level Power Engineer (4th Class) can expect to make $25-$30 per hour.  Top 1st Class Engineers can make upwards of $200,000 after years or even decades of training and experience.

The 5 levels of Power Engineering Certifications in Canada

1st Class – Can be considered equivalent to Mechanical or Electrical Engineers in theoretical knowledge with the hands-on operating experience and expertise to be in charge of very powerful boilers.

2nd Class – Act as relief for 1st Class Engineers and provide supervision for both engineers and contractors on site.

3rd Class – Perform a lot of maintenance and monitor the efficient operation of Coal, Natural Gas and Bio-energy boilers.

4th Class – Perform a lot of field and monitoring work.

5th Class – Often in charge of refrigeration plants such as ice rinks.

 

Below is a list of accredited colleges and recognized training providers across Canada organized by province. Please contact us if there is an error or we’re missing a provider at ipenat@nipe.ca

British Columbia Institute of Technology

Contact: Mike Safoniuk

BCIT_assistant_powerengineering@bcit.ca

604-431-4929

College of New Caledonia

Instructor: Stephen Davis

daviss5@cnc.bc.ca

250-562-2131 ext 5234

Northern Lights College

Department Head: Robert McAleney or Jay Cowan

rmcaleney@nlc.bc.ca or  jcowan@nlc.bc.ca

250-784-5149

Vancouver Island University

Department Head: Melanie Cousins

Melanie.cousins@viu.ca

Training Providers

Glenn McQuarrie Enterprises

President:  Glenn McQuarrie .

coastal3@telus.net

604-223-7575

Power Engineering Technology Corporation

ali@campsquamish.com

Recreation Facilities Association of BC

Business Manager: Dan Pagely

dan@rfabc.com

1-877-285-3421

Selkirk College

Contact: Bruce McMaster

bmcmaster@selkirk.ca

Skeena Technical School

Contact: N/A

https://www.skeenatechnical.com

TFM Consultants International LTD

Contact: Mike Garcia

mikegarcia@tfmci.com

778-873-1050


Colleges

Grande Prairie Regional College

Contact: Wells Darling

wdarling@gprc.ab.ca

780-835-6631

1-888-539-4772

Keyano College

Contact: Brian Macdougal

Brian.macdougal@keyano.ca

780-791-4885

Lakeland College

Contact: Robert Collins or Michelle Armstrong

robert.collins@lakelandcollege.ca or michelle.armstrong@lakelandcollege.ca

780-853-8537

Lethbridge Community College

Contact: Shayne Gurney

shayne.gurney@lethbridgecollege.ab.ca

403-320-3492

Medicine Hat College

Contact: Rakesh Kaushish

rkaushish@mhc.ab.ca

403-529-3980

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology

Contact: Danielle Waroniuk or Lowell Harke

daniellew@nait.ca or lowellh@nait.ca

780-471-7026

Northern Lakes College

Contact: Cherie Friesen

cherie.friesen@northernlakescollege.ca

Resource Technology Training Team

1-888-652-8780 ext 8352

Portage College

Contact: Christine Tredger

christine.tredger@portagecollege.ca

780-623-5626

Red Deer College

Contact: Elaire Frenette

elaire.frenette@rdc.ab.ca

403-342-3442

Southern Alberta Institute of Technology

Contact: Mitch McNeil

mitch.mcneil@sait.ca

403-284-8031

Calgary Board of Education

Contact: Stan Powers

srpowers@cbe.ab.ca

Calgary Catholic Immigration Society

Contact: Monika Bhandari

mbhandari@ccisab.ca

Training Providers

George Brychka Boiler Consulting

Contact: George Brychka
gbrychka@yahoo.com
780-513-6747


Power Engineering Preparation Consulting

Contact: Mike Maidens
mike@powerprep.ca
780-946-7457


Colleges

Assiniboine Community College

Contact: Ken Alders

aladersk@assiniboine.net

204-725-8700 ext. 6615

Red River College

Contact: Tim Farrell

tfarrell36@rrc.ca

204-632-2169

River East Transcona

Contact: Gail Bobowski

gbobowski@retsd.mb.ca

Training Providers

Westech Energy Training Systems

Contact: Brian Baker

custom@customvac.mb.ca

204-775-7744

Colleges

New Brunswick Community College

Contact: Orry Lyttle
orry.lyttle@nbcc.ca
504-658-6729


 

 

Back to top